Ahmed Bukhatir – Ya Ummi (English translation) – Wizausky

I will return oh mother .. لسوف أعود يا أمي
And kiss your chaste head .. أقبّل رأسك الزاكي
And suppress (blame?) my desires .. أبتّك كل أشواقي
And taste the scent of your blessings .. وأرشف عطر يمناك
Besmirch in the richness of your feet .. أمرغ في ثرى قدميك
My cheek when I meet you .. خدي حين ألقاك
Water the soil with my tears .. أروي الترب من دمعي
Happy that you are alive .. سرورا في محياك

How many nights did you stay up late .. فكم أسهرت من ليل
So that I could sleep to my content? .. لأرقد ملأ أجفاني
And how many times did you thirst .. وكم أظمأت من جوف
So you could quench my thirst with your tenderness? .. لترويني بتحناني
And one day I was Ill, I do not forget .. ويوم مرضت لا أنسى
The tears from you that were like the rain .. دموعا منك كالمطر
And your eyes which stayed awake .. وعينا منك ساهرة
Fearing that I may be in danger .. تخاف علي من خطر
And the day we parted at dawn .. ويوم وداعنا فجرا
And Oh what a harsh dawn that was .. وما أقساه من فجر
Words cannot explain what .. يحار القول في وصف الذي
I felt when I abandoned you .. لاقيت من هجري
And you told me things which I still .. وقلت مقولة لا زلــت
Remember throughout my life .. مدّكرا بها دهري
“You will never find a heart محال أن ترى صدرا
more tender towards you than mine” .. أحن عليك من صدري
“You will never find a heart محال أن ترى صدرا
more tender towards you than mine” .. أحن عليك من صدري

Chorus

Obedience to you, oh want of my life .. ببرك يا منى عمري
(is what) the God of existence has instructed me to do .. إله الكون أوصاني
Your content is the secret of my success .. رضاؤك سر توفيقي
And my love of you is the secret of my belief .. وحبك ومض إيماني
And the sincerity of your prayer (for me) .. وصدق دعائك انفرجت
Has resolved my misfortunes and my sadness .. به كربي وأحزاني
My love towards you .. ودادك لا يشاطرني
No human being loves anything like it .. به أحد من البشر
You are the beating of my heart .. فأنت النبض في قلبي
And you are what lights my vision .. وأنت النور في بصري
And you are the tune on my lips .. وأنت اللحن في شفتي
My problems cease when I see your face .. بوجهك ينجلي كدري
To you I do return oh mother .. إليك أعود يا أمي
Tomorrow I rest from my journey .. غدا أرتاح من سفري
And a second age will begin for me .. ويبدأ عهدي الثاني
And the branches will blossom with flowers .. ويزهو الغصن بالزهر

Leave a Reply

